Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice and Prevention



FINAL

April 13, 2021

NOTE: This meeting was held by electronic means, via ZOOM meeting software, in response to the Governor's Declaration of a State of Emergency due to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Members Present

Gena Berger (for VDSS) Marilyn Brown Ngan Bui Jeff Charity Lorenzo Collins Alana Corn John Dougherty Keith Farmer, Chair Morgan Faulkner Joseph Gong Mary Langer Julie McConnell Linda McWilliams (for DJJ) Nina Marino (for DBHDS) Sen. Joe Morrissey Sable K Nelson (for VDH) Toni Randall Doranda Scott (DOE) Shelly Baker-Scott Niyah White **Rick White** Del. Rodney Willett **Elaine Williams** Amy Woolard

Members Absent

Nancy Campos Anthony Jackson Dave Johnson Sam Perez Lawrence Webb

DCJS Staff Present

<u>Guest</u> Cara Blair (OJJDP)

Ed Holmes Greg Hopkins Laurel Marks Ken Stables Angela Alvernez Maria Garnett

- I. **Call to Order** Keith Farmer, Committee Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:06am. A verbal roll call was taken.
- II. Approval of Minutes The committee received and reviewed the draft minutes of January 26, 2021 meeting. Judge Mary Langer made a motion to approve the January 26, 2021 minutes. Sable K Nelson seconded. The motion was approved unanimously by a verbal roll call vote.

III. DCJS Updates

- Ken Stables updated the committee on compliance activities to include virtual visits and data collection.
- Greg Hopkins shared with the committee a summary of juvenile justice legislation that past during the 2021 General Assembly session. Additionally, Greg Hopkins updated the committee on the current DCJS grant opportunities, specifically the Gun Violence Intervention Program and Youth and Gang Community Assessments.

IV. Action Items

- Three Year Plan Priority Order Greg Hopkins shared with the committee the final version of the Three-Year Plan priority order that included the suggested edits from committee members. It was suggested that Priority #3 be changed, removing substance abuse and replacing it with substance use, to be consistent with trauma-informed language. Gena Berger made a motion to adopt the Three-Year Plan priority order as amended. Judge Mary Langer seconded. The motion was approved unanimously.
- Youth Gang and Community Assessment Greg Hopkins presented to the committee a Title II funding request for the City of Portsmouth to conduct a Youth and Gang Community Assessment. Greg Hopkins shared with the committee HB422 from the 2020 General Assembly session, which established the Youth and Gang Community Assessment Prevention Grant funds. HB422 established funding to several localities across the state, to include the City of Portsmouth. However, when the budget was approved it did not include Portsmouth as one of the localities receiving state general funds. In order to allow for what appeared to be an unintentional oversight, DCJS is seeking approval by our ACJJP to use Title II funding to allow Portsmouth to conduct the assessment. Questions were raised about the locality's plans for the funding. Greg Hopkins stated that he would follow up

with the City of Portsmouth and provide additional information about the request at the June ACJJP meeting.

- ACJJP Bylaws Greg Hopkins shared with the committee proposed revisions to the current ACJJP bylaws. The bylaws shared were for review purpose only for this meeting and will need a full vote for approval at the next ACJJP meeting. The revisions included revised language under Article III (Members) Section 5 and Article VI (Subcommittees) Section 1.
- V. Virginia Department of Social Services presentation Gena Berger, Chief Deputy Commissioner with the Virginia Department of Social Services, provided a PowerPoint presentation on the Virginia Foster Care system, including Family First Implementation (July1, 2021), Incentivize Prevention Services, Kinship Navigator Programs and Virginia Prevention Goals.
- VI. ACJJP Elections (Chair and Vice Chair) Greg Hopkins presented the names of members nominated either by themselves or by another member to fill the role of Chair and Vice-Chair to the committee. Electronically a slate of nominations was presented and a unanimous vote was captured. The new officers are Julie McConnell as Chair and Jeffery Charity Jr. as Vice-Chair.
- VII. **Public Comment** none
- VIII. Adjourn Meeting adjourned at 12:11pm
- IX. Future Dates: June 15, 2021 and September 14, 2021